how to be Korea cute

September 7, 2013

Do you love adorable, random cuteness? Who doesn’t!? If you’re in Korea, you’re in the perfect spot to be bombarded with it daily.

I think there must be a rule that all stationary, pillows, and any kind of container must have one of the following: a face, ears or cute Konglish sayings. Honestly, my pencil case looks like a 3-year-old’s toy box.

My white-out and tape measure. See? Not kidding.

My white-out and tape measure. See? Not kidding.

Some other things that are often over-the-top cutesie in Korea:

Glasses and jewelry

Hair accessories

Everything’s gotta be ears or bows.

T-shirts and sweatshirts

image

Not sure if my shirt says Your, Tour, or Jour. Any guesses?

Anything from Daiso.

Daiso is a Japanese dollar store. I think a lot of the cutie-pie trend originated in Japan but Korea has totally made it its own.

My dad and sister LOVED their cute Daiso purchases when they visited!

My dad and sister LOVED their cute Daiso purchases when they visited!

Konglish – signs, advertisements, stationary, cafe walls – they’re all full of it! But Konglish (Korean that has been poorly translated into English) really needs its own blog post.

Phone apps – not just photo-editing, which I’ve mentioned before. Every game, background screen and emoticon is hilarious and adorable.

image

Kakao emoticons are the best! Facebook stickers are catching up though!

Koreans have perfected the art of cuteness, and they even have a name for it! ‘Aegyo’ is a style of acting, dressing and posing to seem cuter than you actually are. This is not just for girls, as you can see below ;)!

There are people who are professionals at this who are called ‘Ulzzang’. Ulzzang are people who post tons of photos of themselves on the internet and some become internet celebrities for…. looking like they have big eyes (?!? somebody help me out here).

The point of this picture? Not tooooo sure.

Korea is ALL about random quirkiness, even though it is quite a conservative culture. I think that since Koreans have such an intense work ethic that having cute things and being cute is a way for them to release some of their inner quirkiness. People really dress up for work and dress professionally but after hours, the inner quirky-loving side comes out and makes everyone’s life a bit more loveable and liveable.

Personally I love all of the accessories and clothes… it’s just that after I buy them I can never bring myself to wear them out in public!! Those are my two cents, thanks for reading and good luck with being ‘Korea cute ;)’!

One Response to “how to be Korea cute”

  1. Mom said

    You look Korea-cute but I don’t think it’s my thing:)
    XO

Leave a comment

Modern Seoul

Food, Drink, Sports, Travel & More from South Korea

LifeLoveKorea

There is Life, There is Love, There is Korea.

Cailín meets Korea

☆living☆working☆dining☆seeing☆making☆doing☆

Over My Styled Body

A personal style blog, giving fashionistas a daily dose of style one outfit at a time

Bliss With Beauty

Rambling On About Beauty, Fashion & Life

Magic Elixir

Secret Magic In Living Everyday

Do Not Refreeze

Just another WordPress.com site

teacher dreamer traveler and believer

For all things sugar and spice and close to my heart : Scroll to the bottom to search by category

A Blog Abroad

A Blog Abroad

fly, Icarus, fly

Celebrating moments of travel giddiness

Seoul Sub→urban

‘Discovering Seoul, one subway stop at a time.’

seoul in the city

Just another WordPress.com site

Warm Vanilla Sugar

Adding a little sweetness to your day

Northern Exposure

Just another WordPress.com site